top of page

A Day in the Life... 1.0

So when I started writing this blog, I had planned on writing about mundane things that happen in life. I realize that I cannot maintain a website built on mundane information. However, now and then, I think it's necessary to show how the life of an offender is sometimes just like everyone else... except for all of the registry hassle.

I went to see my children and grandson this last weekend. They live about 3 hours from me and I usually enjoy the drive. Not long ago I bought an older Saab and I truly enjoy driving that car. Anyway, I took my bicycle with me, a very old Peugot 10-speed, so I could ride with my grandson who recently learned to ride.

When I got there, he came running out the door like he always does and jumps up into my arms. "Hi, Papa! I missed you!" He's such a joy. Of course he instantly noticed the bike and wanted to ride. I had to tell him to cool his jets a bit so I could go see his mom, and his uncle... my two.

My daughter just bought a house and she wants to immediately renovate and remodel the entire house... every room at the same time! I enjoy her excitement and her initiative for sure, though my son and I have to "reign her in" from time to time. For his part, he's been a great big-brother and uncle to her son. He says that when I go to help her on her house, I'm truly helping him instead!

I showed up on a Saturday, and planned on leaving Sunday afternoon. That left little times to get anything too major done, but God bless her anyway, she had big plans. In order to appease her, we ended up removing a non-load bearing wall between the kitchen and living room!

She wanted the finished project to look like there were beams on the vertical ends and the horizontal part. "Encase it!", was her mantra. By the end the following afternoon, we'd accomplished our goal. We'd "encased it" all!

My grandson didn't get as much time with "Papa" as he'd hoped, and the likewise for me. We had planned on carving pumpkins together, but we just ran out of time. However, I did get to ride with him a couple of times.

The heart of a young child is so precious and tender. As we would ride, we'd get to the end of the street and he would need to stop to turn around most times. While he was getting ready to start again, he'd say "Sorry, Papa." Each time I'd tell him, "It's ok, buddy. You'll get it figured out." But next time, the same thing... "Sorry, Papa." What a great little boy.

Times like that make me remember being young, and being innocent. So many times in life I've wished to have all of my innocence back. Lucky for me, I met a woman who has a magical way of bringing innocence into my world.

Yes, I'm a registrant. But it doesn't mean that I'm cold or perverted or criminally minded. My family means the world to me, and so does the dear woman who loves me most. Like most people, I just want to enjoy those whom I love, to be respected, and to have a path to redemption.

bottom of page